Town of Francestown Board of Selectmen Minutes of Meeting Monday, May 15, 2017

Members Present: Chairman Brad Howell, Abigail Arnold, and Henry Kunhardt

Others Present: Town Administrator Jamie A Pike, Betty Behrsing, Cindy St. Jean, Ben Haubrich, BJ Carbee, Robert Fossbender, Tim Bower, Jim Tovey, Joanne Santospage and Polly Freese

Chairman Howell called the meeting to order at 5:35pm

Consent Agenda

- A. Payroll & Accounts Payable Manifest 5/16/17
- B. Heritage Fund Donation Acceptance \$25.00
- C. Intent to Cut Map 1 Lot 12 Beverly Abbott

A motion was made by Ms. Arnold seconded by Mr. Kunhardt to approve the Consent Agenda as presented and discussed. **Motion passes.**

New Business

- A. Mr. Kunhardt presented the Board's decision regarding the status of Lakehouse Recovery. (Letter Attached) Mr. Bower raised the question of fees still owed the town by Mr. Hatfield and concerns about the septic system. Ms. Carbee was concerned with residents participation with children. Ms. Santospage asked about the commercial business aspect which Mr. Kunhardt explained that under the Fair Housing Act the business aspect is irrelevant. Mr. Tovey felt they should still follow zoning procedures. Ms. Freese asked again about the business aspect and Mr. Kunhardt reiterated that they are protected by the Fair Housing Act and cannot be treated any differently than any other single family residence. It was suggested that the Selectmen turn down the "reasonable accommodation" request and force Mr. Hatfield to go to HUD for a declaration of rights. Ms. Santospage asked if the property was now considered commercial and it was confirmed that it is still a single family residential property. The question was raised concerning tax valuation of surrounding properties.
- **B.** Selectmen received a letter from Kris Kolodziejczyk expressing concerns with Mr. Hatfield using his property to access the lake and stating he is posting his property. He would like the selectmen to order Mr. Hatfield to cease and desist which is not the function of the BOS. Mr. Pike is to write a letter informing him that if he has problems with trespassers he should notify the police.
- **C.** The Board approved the issuance of an RFP for the repair of the operations shed at the Francestown Transfer Station and Recycling Center that was prepared by Mr. Kunhardt and Mr. Pike.
- **D.** Mr. Holdredge is working on Emergency Operations Plan and would like input from BOS on the section concerning the "Continuity of Government/Line of Succession". The board reviewed the section and approved it without amendment.
- E. 2017 Committee/Board Positions appointed as follows:
 - 1. Ms. Arnold made the motion that they appoint Cindy St. Jean and Ralph Lavallee as full time members of the ZBA and Jan Hicks as the Alternate seconded by Mr. Kunhardt. **Motion passes**

- 2. Mr. Howell made the motion that they appoint Stewart Brock to the Budget & Advisory Committee. Mr. Kunhardt seconded. **Motion passes.**
- 3. Ms. Arnold made the motion that they appoint Don Shuffleton, Kelly Marshall, and Scott Heath as full time Conservation Commission members and George Sanderson and James St. Jean as alternates seconded by Mr. Kunhardt. **Motion passes.**
- 4. Mr. Howell made the motion to appoint Barbara Caskie to Heritage Commission seconded by Ms. Arnold. **Motion passes.**
- 5. A motion was made by Ms. Arnold and seconded by Mr. Kunhardt to appoint Robin Haubrich as a full member of the Conservation Commission to fill the vacancy left by Karen Fitzgerald. **Motion passes.**
- 6. Ms. Arnold made the motion to appoint Charles Swinford as Library Trustee Alternate seconded by Mr. Howell. **Motion passes.**
- 7. Mr. Kunhardt made the motion to appoint Mike Tartallis and Lee Davis to the Waste Disposal Committee seconded by Ms. Arnold. **Motion passes.**
- 8. Mr. Kunhardt made the motion to appoint Thomas Kirlin, Dawn Kirlin, and Mike Beisang to the Recreation Committee seconded by Ms. Arnold. **Motion passes.**
- 9. Mr. Howell made a motion to appoint Scott Carbee to the Patriotic Purposes seconded by Ms. Arnold. **Motion passes.** The Board also directed Mr. Pike to prepare a memo to the committee regarding the necessity for posting meetings and maintaining minutes.
- 10. Ms. Arnold made the motion to appoint Guy Tolman, Scott Heath as full time members and Rebecca Harris and Jennifer Vadney as alternatives to the SNHRP seconded by Mr. Howell. **Motion passes.**

Other Business

- A. Motion was made by Mr. Kunhardt to approve the minutes of 4/28, 5/3 and 5/1 as amended, seconded by Mr. Howell. **Motion passes.**
- B. Short discussion about Town Hall. Jamie suggested an online journal chronicling the progress of the project.

Chairman Howell adjourned the meeting at 6:25pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Kim Dalley

Approved 05.22.2017

Brad Howell

Abigail Arnold

Henry Kunhardt